Sunday 17 September 2017


Our regular monthly afternoon series continues at The Vortex “London’s listening Jazz club’ with, in different guises, some of the participants from the previous day’s Discovery festival in Walthamstow.

Doors open at 2.00 pm and the admission price is our regular £8 or £6 concessions The session finishes at 5.30 pm

The programme will include

Stefan Keune (sax) / John Russell (acoustic guitar) duo

Alison Blunt (violin) / Yoko Miura (piano) duo

Ola Paulson (alto saxophone) Anders Lindsjö (electric bass guitar) John Russell (electric guitar) Anders Uddeskog (drums & percussion) quartet

plus surprise guests!!!



Saturday 16 September 2017

discovery logo

Discovery 2017

A very special event taking place in Walthamstow the day before our regular monthly afternoon session at The Vortex. An amazing programme offering a wide range of improvisers from the UK alongside international visitors from Sweden, Ireland, Japan, Germany and Italy.

Starting at 12 midday and running throught to 12 midnight.

Discovery 2017 tickets are priced £25 or £15 concessions.

There is also an all day Discovery pass for £100 which includes a goody bag of the complete catalogue from the Weekertoft label and a number of posters from previous concerts and tours.

A limited edition numbered print by artist Gina Southgate of the Thurston Moore / John Russell duo will be on sale before the event for £80 (RRP £99) and there will be a raffle on the day for a signed test pressing of ‘Walthamsow Moon (61 revisited)’ – recorded by Evan Parker, John Russell and John Edwards to mark the 56th anniversary of John Coltrane playing in Walthamstow and released on the ByrdOut label.


NB Online box office now closed Tickets available on the door on the day..

Discovery 2017
Saturday 16 September
12.00pm – 12.00am

Ye Olde Rose & Crown
53-55 Hoe Street
E17 4SA
View Map

Programme (from bottom up)

Paul G Smyth (piano) John Russell (guitar) duo

Barrel – Alison Blunt (violin) Ivor Kallin (viola) Hannah Marshall (cello)

Dave Tucker (bass) Claude Deppa (trumpet) Rachel Musson (sax) Mark Sanders (drums)

Steve Beresford (piano) Satoko Fukuda (violin) duo

Evan Parker (sax) John Russell (guitar) John Edwards (bass) trio

Nigel Coombes (violin) Roger Turner (drums) duo

Lee Boyd Allatson (drums) Alan Wilkinson (sax) Hannah Marshall (cello)

Viv Corringham (voice) Alex Ward (clarinet) duo

Trio Blurb – Maggie Nicols (voice) John Russell (guitar) Mia Zabelka (violin, voice)

Enzo Rocco (guitar) / Veryan Weston (piano) duo

Bomb – Ola Paulson (alto saxophone) Anders Lindsjö (electric bass guitar) Anders Uddeskog (drums & percussion)

Alison Blunt (violin) / Yoko Miura (piano) duo

Compulsive Quintet – Rick Jensen (sax/clarinet) Luisa Tucciariello (vocals/flute/effects) Michele Paccagnella (guitar) Sebastian Sterkowicz (bass Clarinet and Jordan Muscatello (bass)

Lullula – Jim Dvorak (trumpet) Kay Grant (voice) Armorel Weston (voice) Marcio Mattos (bass)

Paul G Smyth (piano) solo

Stefan Keune (alto saxophone / Steve Noble (percussion) duo

S.L.I.E. South Leicestershire Improvisers Ensemble

Crush – Mark Browne (sax) Ian McGowan (trumpet) Sonic Pleasure (objects)

Mopomoso Workshop Group


with thanks to amongst others: