Sunday 15 January 2017

More quality free improvisation as we continue our afternoon concert series at The Vortex (details below)

Martin Hackett (electronics) Daniel Thompson (guitar) Phil Wachsmann (violin) trio

phil Martiu

A new trio put together by synthesizer player Martin Hackett and, in Phil Wachsmann, featuring one of the finest improvising violinists to be found anywhere. Thompson is a younger guitar player who has over the last few years created quite a buzz with his sensitive, measured playing. Surely a fine group.

The Stellari String Quartet

Charlotte Hug (viola) John Edwards (bass) Marcio Mattos (cello) Phil Wachsmann (violin) quartet


Not quite the traditional string quartet line up and certainly not traditional music! Four superb palyers, all well known and highly respected on the international circuit, coming together to create a music of fire, passion and elegance.

Maggie Nichols (voice) John Russell (guitar) duo


Two thirds of ‘Trio Blurb’ John and Maggie have been working together since the early seventies when they first met at the legendary Little Theatre Club. Maggie is, like John, someone who believes in organising events and introducing new audiences and participants to the music. Her seemingly boundless energy is carried through into the music, where her highly individual vocal techniques never cease to amaze audiences around the world.


Sunday 18 December 2016

It’s the End of Year Show!!!

Starting at 2.00 p.m at The Vortex this is our final concert before the holidays and as usual will feature a large cast of musicians playing in different groupings and you are invited to bring food to share.

We already have some musicians confirmed and the list will be added to right up until the day. We usually get about 50 people taking part and it is lots of fun with a chance to hear and meet up with old friends and also meet and make new ones. So far confirmed as taking part are (come back for updates)

John Russell (guitar)
Alan Wilkinson (sax)
Marcio Mattos (cello)
Marilza Gouvea (voice)
Jez Parfett (piano)
Michael Giaquinto (bass)
Joe Smith-Sands (guitar)
Sam Enthoven (theremin)
John Eyles (sax)
Eamon Foreman (guitar)
Chris Hill (clarinet)
Dave Tucker (guitar)
Paul Morris (banjo)
Charlotte Keefe (trumpet)
Paul Jolly (reeds)
Lee Boyd Allatson (drums)
Martin Hackett (objects)
Lawrence Casserley (objects)
Maggie Nicols (voice)
Kostas Chondros (poetry)
John Rangecroft (reeds)
Matt Hutchinson (piano)
Stephen Ying (flute)
Chun-Ting Wang (bass)
Sebastian Sterkowicz (bass clarinet)
James Malone (guitar)
Charlotte Hug (viola)
Veryan Weston (piano)
Sarah Gail Grand (trombone)
Rick Jensen (sax)
Martin Vishnick (guitar)
Matt Scott (accordion)
Simon Littlefield (guitar)
Klaus Bru (sax)