Sunday 20 March 2016

Viv Corringham (voice) / Hannah Marshall (cello)

Two remarkable musicians with an insatiable appetite for playing and a seemingly endless supply of inventiveness. Players with a generous spirit and unafraid to take chances they are two Mopomoso favourites! A delight to have them here again, this time in their Mopomoso debut as a duo.

Inclusion principle – Martin Archer (electronic keyboards, laptop, saxophones, clarinets, recorders) / Hervé Perez (laptop, saxophones) / Peter Fairclough (drums and percussion)

A well established Sheffield based trio, Inclusion Principle inhabit a space between electronics, nu-jazz, contemporary electroacoustic music and free improvisation. Tendencies towards a minimalist approach can on occasion lead to more ‘full on’ electronic beats. Soundscapes with attitude!

Sergi Sorrentino (guitar)

After receiving the Academic Guitar Diploma at the Novara Conservatory in 2010, with a thesis on Italian avant-garde guitar music, Sorrentino has become “one of the most important contemporary Italian guitarists” (RAI Radio Tre). As a performer he promotes the classical and electric guitars’ contemporary repertory in both composed and improvised musics. Here on a short visit, so a rare chance to experience this fine musician playing live.

Lee Allatson drums / John Russell guitar duo

Whilst drummer Lee Allatson has worked across a wide range a musical genres with musicians such as a.o, Prince Buster, Laurel Aitken, Desmond Decker, Paul Dunmall, Han Earl Park, Showaddywaddy, Bill Drummond of KLF, David Thomas and the South Leicestershire Improvisors Ensemble, it is the freer end of things that ‘provide a level of connection with my instrument, music and other musicians I can find nowhere else’. Joined by leading UK guitarist John Russell this is a first encounter.


Sunday 21 February 2016

John Jasnoch (guitar) / Derek Saw (valve trombone) / Adam Woolfe (clarinet and piano)

Excellent Sheffield-based trio with Saw and Jasnoch last appearing here as part of  The Linda Sharrock group. Also forming part of the Sonny Simmons UK quartet, they are joined here by Adam Woolfe, whose other work has included the Kenneth Marx hip hop collective and releases under the name Tantric Doctors.

Matt Hutchinson (piano)

From art school with Terry Nillson-Love via jazz groups with, amongst others, Mike Osborne, these days Hutchinson is best known for both his electronic and acoustic work with Chris Burn and Phil Wachsmann. A rare chance to hear this ever inventive and sensitive player in a solo context.

Phil Minton (voice) / John Russell (guitar)

Phil Minton is one of the most adventurous singers on the scene today. From early work in jazz through the Mike Westbrook groups and on to major contemporary projects including the founding of the Feral Choir, Minton has been amazing audiences around the world. Here with regular musical partner Russell in a duo that never fails to engage the audience at the cutting edge of creative music as it unfolds.